Book Review: Something to Talk About by Meryl Wilsner

Not that much to talk about.

Show runner and her assistant give the world something to talk about when they accidentally fuel a ridiculous rumour.This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is something-to-talk-about-1.png

Hollywood powerhouse Jo is photographed making her assistant Emma laugh on the red carpet, and just like that, the tabloids declare them a couple. The so-called scandal couldn’t come at a worse time – threatening Emma’s promotion and Jo’s new movie.

As the gossip spreads, it starts to affect all areas of their lives. Paparazzi are following them outside the office, coworkers are treating them differently, and a ‘source’ is feeding information to the media. But their only comment is ‘no comment’

With the launch of Jo’s film project fast approaching, the two women begin to spend even more time together, getting along famously. Emma seems to have a sixth sense for knowing what Jo needs. And Jo, known for being aloof and outwardly cold, opens up to Emma in a way neither of them expects. They begin to realise the rumour might not be so off base after all . . . but is acting on the spark between them worth fanning the gossip flames?

After I requested this book, I started hearing bad things about it and sadly when I started reading it that was true. I found Emma annoying at the start, the way she freaked out about a dress she needed for a work event. I think the picture part was clumsily done especially when Jo’s media persona is being an ice queen. This book is third-person but we have chapters that follow one character more than the other, which I think was a mistake. At least where and when we followed each character, there’s no set pattern.

It does get better as it goes on. Emma gets less annoying and then annoying in the third act again due to an unnecessary trope.

I don’t like power imbalance romances, but I’m a sucker for media about behind the scene talent and Queer things so I thought I would give it a chance and hope the imbalance isn’t too much. There is a lot of justification to why their relationship is okay and involves the usual tropes around that. This book does involve a sapphic romance between a 27-year-old Bi Jewish Women, Emma and 41-year-old Chinese Lesbian, Jo. They are the only out to the reader queer characters. They are both full adults when they met but it is established that Emma did admire Jo’s work before she started working for her. This a slow burn romance mainly because both characters spend most of the book denying their feelings. So while I wonder their stance on Pop Culture references, I could get over it for the sack of Sapphic romance.

Emma does have asthma and has an attack during the book.

This book has a ton of tropes, they are obvious as soon as introduced. Honestly, if this wasn’t a Queer romance I would probably have stopped reading (arc or not). One did feel very unnecessary and add nothing but did make me like Emma less and we were so near the end by that point. It’s generally a trope I hate so doesn’t help matters. All books have tropes in them. This one just needed to fine tune it’s trope game.

The characters are alright. If you want sibling/sibling-like relationships where they pick on the protagonists until they admit their feelings then this is the book for you. They all very nice but that’s about it. No one is that deep, you know this a romance book first so every character is they to serve that purpose in one way or not. A two line introduction told me exactly what this character was gonna do and then he did it. My favourite character was a side-character and we don’t learn much about the protagonists. Like what is Emma favourite film genre? Neither of them seem that passionate about film or each other. A lot of telling, not a lot of tension. It’s odd that I would have been fine with them just being Gal Pals by the end. Sisters in arms against Hollywood’s prejudices.

The book takes place over a year, so they are some plot points. The ending felt a bit rushed (though I was also reading it fast as possible because I wanted to finish it before I had to do something at a specific time). I guess the conclusion was fine, just lacking in satisfaction for me while I was reading it.

Overall, I give this book 3/5 stars for Matching Bracelet. This turn out not to be a book for me, the TV production element wasn’t that engaging. It’s what I consider a light read, with enough realism for me to care about the ending. I’m not sure who to recommend it to since most people don’t seem to be clicking with it. A lot of is 3 starts. This a debut so improvement is possible and likely. I read it in a day so maybe it’s perfect for a quick read.

Rating: 3 out of 5.

Read: 16/06/2020 – 17/06/2020
Reviewed: 17/06/2020 – 18/05/2020
Medium: E-Arc
Published Date: 18/06/2020
Publisher: Piatkus
Source: NetGalley
CW: Sexual Harassment; Homophobic Parents;

Published by RV

I've been spreading my strangeness around the internet for a while now. I write and make videos. Maybe someday that translated into books and film, till then I'm here.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started